Skip to main content

TLC’s 32nd Annual Celebration – A Recap

Published on
28 April 2023

TLC’s 32nd Annual Celebration took place on Sunday, April 23.
Guests had a pleasant afternoon at a new venue, the McHenry Country Club and enjoyed a “high tea”, awards, guest presentation, raffle, silent auction and more!

The Natural Land Insitiute in Rockford, IL received the 2022 Conservation Champions Award for their efforts to save Bell Bowl Prairie.

Carol Elkins received the Conservation@Home Impact Award

Donna Hrijac received the Outstanding TLC Volunteer Award

TLC also recognized land protected in 2022, which included:

The J&L Anderson Easement – 125 acres in Capron, IL, donated by Meaghan Zeiner and Sharon M. McLoughlin

The Rechten Easement – 4.26 acre in Harvard, IL, donated by Paul and Christine Rechten

Pistakee Bay – Enlarged by 1.5 acres in McHenry, IL, bringing the protected total to 4.35 acres

Cindy Crosby gave an inspiring presentation on “The Tallgrass Prairie in Popular Culture”, which demonstrated how many artists and creatives are inspired by Illinos’ tallgrass prairies.

One lucky winner received the first-ever “Buckthorn Replacement Kit” that was raffled off. The winner received seven native chokeberry shrubs to be planted by TLC sponsor Davey Tree Company, as well as two flats of plants donated by Natural Communities Native Plants in Algonquin. Thank you to these wonderful donors!

Flats of native plants donated by Natural Communities Native Plants.
This canvas photo of Boloria Meadows is one of the many silent auction items that were donated for the event.

Cindy Crosby
TLC Board Member Sandra Scheinfeld
Guests enjoying the event
Guests enjoying the event

TLC would like to thank its wonderful annual and event sponsors!

We’d also like to thank all of the generous silent auction donors who helped TLC raise over $6,000 to preserve land for life in McHenry County! We hope to see many of you at next year’s event!

Ders Anderson
Teresa Baber
Chicago Bears
Chicago Fire
Chicago Red Stars
Chicago White Sox
Classic Cinemas
Countryside Nursery
Douglas J. Aveda Institute
Ethereal Confections
Field Museum
Kay France
Doug Frey
Georgio’s Pizza
Jerry Gudauskus
Gypsy Glen K-9 Kastle
Lisa Haderlein
Gail Hamilton
Corinne Hardt
Hawthorn Shoppe
Illinois Shakespeare Festival
Indiana Beach
JB Aviation
Ellen Judson
Kane County Cougars
Lake Geneva Ziplines &
Karen Lavin
Lou Malnati’s
Jennifer Luniewicz-Martins
Mary Mariutto
Marvin’s Toy Store
Milwaukee Public Museum
Mum 117
Music Box Theatre
Mark Newton
Navy Pier
Oak Park Festival Theatre
Paul McFadden
Linda Oeffling
Ken Pieper
Prairie Moon Nursery
Raue Center for the Arts
Richardson Adventure Farm
Aruna Nitin Sarode
Schaumburg Boomers
Randy and Nancy Schietzelt
Six Flags Great America
Stade’s Farm
Alfred Stark
Syrup Restaurant
Kurt Taylor
The Mailbox Post Man
Volo Auto Museum
Kathy Weber
Caron Wenzel
Wisconsin State Fair
Trish Woselowsky